adoption laws in Pennsylvania

legal_imageState Adoption Laws in Pennsylvania

When it comes to laws that govern Pennsylvania adoption, trying to find a quick and simple answer can be frustrating.  Trying to decipher what a specific adoption law statute means can be overwhelming.  Our goal is to help you find answers to the most common Pennsylvania adoption laws.

Every state has very different statutes that regulate how an adoption can be administered.  If you are considering an in-state adoption – were both the adoptive family and birth mother live in Pennsylvania – adoption laws become clearer and more definitive. However, if your adoption is a dual-state adoption – wherein the adoptive family and birth mother live in different states – which states laws take precedence can become very complicated.  Obviously, in either situation, we advise that an experienced adoption attorney knowledgeable in Pennsylvania adoption law should render an opinion before any action be considered.

As a general reference tool, the following information is provided as an abridged summary interpretation of key Pennsylvania adoption laws. Most of these adoption codes have additional circumstances that will need to be verified and considered for each specific adoption. In addition, in state-to-state adoptions, some of these codes may not be applicable depending on the combination of states involved.

THIS INFORMATION SHOULD NOT  BE RELIED UPON AS COMPLETE LEGAL ADVICE AND APPLICABLE TO YOUR SPECIFIC ADOPTION. IT IS INTENDED ONLY TO BE A REFERENCE AND NOT DEFINITIVE.

Summary Answer**
State Statute
State Code Primary State adoption statute page
When can a Birth Mother sign consent? 72 hours after birth §2711
When can a Birth Father sign consent? Anytime §2711
Who is required to witness consent? Notary/children services §2711
When can consent be revoked? 30 days §2711
Is a court hearing required for termination? Yes §2503(b)
Is there a Putative Father registry? Yes §5103
How long until finalization? 3-12 months §2108
Can a non-resident finalize? Yes §2108
Are Birth Mother expenses allowed to be paid? Yes §2533(d)
Is there an allowable maximum for Birth Mother expenses? No §2533(d)
Can court increase maximum Birth Mother expenses? No §2533(b)(8)
Are post partum expenses allowed? No §2533(d)
Are Birth Mother expenses required to be paid by an agency? No §2533(d)
Are Birth Mother medical expenses allowed to be paid? Yes §2533(d)
Is there an allowable maximum for medical expenses? No §2533(d)
Does the state allow same sex adoption? Yes §2312
Does the state allow single parent adoption? Yes §2903